ICM Programme overview

Intensive Care Medicine (ICM), also referred to as Critical Care Medicine is that body of specialist knowledge and practice concerned with the treatment of patients with, at risk of or recovering from potentially life-threatening failure of one or more of the organ systems.

Intensive Care Medicine is a multidisciplinary training programme which has been developed by the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FICM-previously known as the Intercollegiate Board for Training in Intensive Care Medicine (IBTICM) in conjunction with the parent Royal Colleges, Regional Advisors and trainees in ICM and many other contributors.

Joint CCT in ICM:

Until 2011, Intensive Care Medicine had a schedule 2-specialty status meaning that a Certificate of Completion of Specialist Training could only be awarded in the parent specialty and ICM. Trainees from all specialties could apply for a Joint CCT in Intensive Care Medicine as long as they had acquired a training post that leads to a CCT (Certificate of Completion of Training) in their parent specialty and fulfil the criteria specified by the FICM. The details of this training programme are available in the ICM training(Joint CCT) (2010) curriculum document.

All trainees appointed to a specialty-training programme until 31st July 2012 will continue to follow this pathway of training. However, their appointment and registration into the Joint CCT programme should have occurred on or before 31st July 2013.


In October 2011, GMC approved a standalone CCT programme for Intensive Care Medicine meaning that trainees could apply and be appointed for a 5-year programme of training in Intensive Care Medicine. The details of this programme are available in the ICM training 2011 curriculum document. These trainees are appointed by national recruitment process and are known as ‘ICM CCT’ trainees.

Dual CCT in ICM and another specialty:

From 2012 August, trainees pursuing ICM CCT also become eligible to apply for a second specialty-training programme in the same deanery. The second specialty programme that one can achieve dual CCT with ICM is currently limited to five partner specialties and this is likely to be extended in future. When successful, these trainees can obtain CCT in two different specialties (ICM and the other specialty) and these trainees are known as Dual CCT trainees. The order in which a trainee can attain ‘Dual CCT ‘status is flexible. i.e. one can become a dual CCT trainee by getting an ST3 post in either ICM or any of the partner specialties in one year and subsequently be successful in obtaining an ST3 post leading to CCT in the other partner specialty within the next 18 months. For more details on these partner specialties, please see the Dual CCT page.

CESR (Certificate of Eligibility for Specialist Registration) Trainees who have not managed to obtain a Joint CCT or dual CCT in ICM as above can still join the Specialist Register for ICM by achieving a Certificate of Eligibility for Specialist Registration (CESR). Further details can be obtained by accessing this website and this document.

Last Updated on Thursday, 13 February 2014 15:49

We use cookies to improve our website and your experience when using it. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.

EU Cookie Directive Module Information